Blitzkrieg – War Machine LP on Orange Vinyl

The original line-up was formed by Mike ‘Riffone’ on vocals together with his brother Phil ‘Din’ on drums in 1979, initially with Will Mawdsley on guitar and Gary ‘Gaz’ Sumner on bass. Tony “Toe” Fowler joined on bass, while Gaz Sumner switched over to guitar. Later when Toe Fowler left, he was replaced with Chris Hind on bass, previously of the local Southport band Mayhem.
This formed the definitive line-up of Mike Riffone (vocals), Phil Din (drums), Gaz Sumner (guitar) and Chris Hind (bass). This line-up was signed to the independent record label No Future Records and released the track “The Future Must Be Ours”, which appeared on the A Country Fit For Heroes compilation album, released in January 1982, Catalogue number Oi3, reaching No. 4 in theUK Indie charts. Shortly after the release of this track, Phil Din left the band and was for a brief period replaced by ‘Jackanory’ John McCallum on drums. Blitzkrieg then released the bands 1st EP Lest we Forget, and although the band were meant to do a follow up EP plus an album with No Future, they strangely left to sign to Sexual Phonograph, replacing John on drums with Dave “Bambi ” Ellesmere from Discharge and released their 2nd EP Animals in Lipstick, this decision which wasn’t a band decision ultimately led to the band splitting in 1983.Mick ‘Riffone” went on to join Rabid Dogs with Popegustav on guitar, who later joined Blitzkrieg and is still in the line up.
The band reformed several times in the late 80’s with a variety of line ups, and released the album The Future Must be Ours in 1991 again splitting shortly afterwards.
Blitzkrieg re-formed for the Rebellion 2007 festival at Blackpool. And again had several line ups which included Chris Hind (former member) bass and vocals,JB Dirtstar Vocals, Mick Stokes Guitar and vocals, Jax Chambers (Girlschool) lead guitar and vocals,Jim Blunt Drums, and Tom Tom (Poor Kids with Guns) drums. A new album, Everything is Lies was released July 2008 and they played Rebellion 2008. In 2009 Blitzkrieg played many gigs including Rebellion, this continued through 2010 when they recorded their last E.P to date “FEAR AND CONTROL” AT RiverStudios Belgium featuring Gus Goldsbrough (Popegustav) /Guitar, Gaz Johnson/Drums, Jax Chambers /Guitar & Chris Hind Bass/Vocals. They continued gigging the U.K & EUROPE until 2014.
2018 and the band are back with their first full studio album for 10 years, BLIND FAITH due for release March 2019 to coincide with their 40th Anniversary, Mike Canavan, Guitar/ Tom Dring, Drums & Chris Hind, Bass/Vocals.
Gus came back into the fold, in 2019 with Chris Hind and Gary Johnson,The same line up that played in 2013/2014
After some very successful gigs alongside bands like The Exploited, Discharge and Vice Squad, to Promote Blind faith, Blitzkrieg have written and produced a new album,”War Machine” recorded remotely with members recording in different locations.because of lockdown. John Cooke from Napalm Death is the guest player on one track. The new tracks sound just as raw despite this and is now the 4th Studio album.
Currently Blitzkrieg are Chris Hind,Bass, Popegustav Guitar,Tom Dring Drums, .
War Machine will also be available on CD


There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “Blitzkrieg – War Machine LP on Orange Vinyl”